I’ve got a left hand!

Well, I mean I’m not saying “WOW I HAVE A LEFT HAND,” but … I have a left hand. šŸ™‚ For this piece. I just sort of played the left hand by itself, and did what I thought I should do: “listened” to the muscles to see how they wanted to move. My ears are apparently in my hands. šŸ™‚

And … that’s an interesting thing to say musically.

Being someone whose childhood piano lessons were sort of cemented in place because I liked to move my hands more than I liked to listen to the noise the thing made, this shouldn’t come as a surprise to me. I really do need to “listen” to my hands more. Audiate through my muscles. I don’t know, I have no idea how the hell to describe this. Maybe this is my pathway to improvisation, not to audiate but to … kinesthate? Something. I don’t know. Whatever the appropriate neologism may be for letting your muscles take over. I’m not pushing at it at the moment. I’m just happy to get even one inch closer to fine on another piece. šŸ™‚

Now thinking about this more, I am of course connected to the noise. I did sit back in shock and enjoyment when I talked my teacher into teaching me a Billy Joel piece, and I was floored when I heard the sounds of Scott Joplin coming out of my piano after I stopped lessons and got his sheet music myself from my college library. And I always loved listening to all sorts of music. But before I was sort of in the driver’s seat at the piano, clearly simply moving my hands was enjoyable enough to keep me going for 8 years. I need to keep that in mind.

