I think I have to do this.

German Spaetzle Dumplings
Servings: 6
Ingredients:
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup milk
2 eggs
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 pinch freshly ground white pepper
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

Directions:
1. Mix together flour, salt, white pepper, and nutmeg. Beat eggs well, and add alternately with the milk to the dry ingredients. Mix until smooth.
2. Press dough through spaetzle maker into boiling water or broth. Here’s a video of someone doing it; it’s pretty bombproof. The actual making part starts around 2:25 in.
3. Cook 3 to 4 minutes (at the most). Strain out when they float. Drain well.
4. Saute cooked spaetzle in butter or margarine. Sprinkle chopped fresh parsley on top, and serve.

I have a feeling I’m going to wind up covering them in some fresh cheese and some gravy made from the leftover pork jus from the pork loin I made a while back. Sort of poutine with spaetzle. And with Indian fresh cheese. So sort of an Indian-French-Canadian-German sort of um, thing.

It would probably be nice in a cream sauce with some chopped asparagus and scallops, too. Or sauteed in olive oil instead of butter with some onions and collard greens with chopped bacon.

And I wonder if there are any sweet recipes? There have to be. I mean, this stuff looks like pancake batter.

One comment on “I think I have to do this.

  1. […] Directions for the spaetzle can be found here. Set the spaetzle aside in a bowl while you do the following, and toss it occasionally to keep it […]

Comments are closed.