This is the kind of thing that will keep me from ever buying another viola.

Insanity comes in many shapes and sizes

I absolutely cannot afford it — he’s asking for a house down payment, which I do not have — but that doesn’t mean I’m not going to keep an eye on the thing, and on other classical-style organs on Craigslist. Oh, to be able to score an entire opera with different stops and sounds and things …

Just looking at that Rodgers is enough to make me explode, but it would be like handing a Kalashnikov to an 8-month old baby. The second looks wonderful, but I don’t know if that model is good for classical music. I’m not looking for siss-boom-bah.

ETA: You know, I think that there is something about making gobs and gobs of notes at once that’s appealing to certain types, much more so than playing something that’s for all intents and purposes, one note at a time. Sure, string players can play two- or three-note chords, but it really is a single-note instrument at bottom. It’s more about the quality of the sound than about the structure that’s created, I think. And the more I think about it, the more I really am on the side of wanting to just play more notes at once.

The first time I looked ahead in the second Suzuki viola book, I remember seeing “Minuet in G” there. Like thousands of young piano students, I had played it as a kid. I never got over the general feeling of thinness and insubstantiality that I had while looking at the sheet music. I’ve said before that strings are an inch wide and a mile deep, where as piano are an inch deep and a mile wide. (Organs are miles in both directions, which I suppose is why most organist are a little cracked upstairs. You’d have to be.) String players seem naturally to be able to find joy and fascination in that drilling down process, whereas maybe keyboard players (and certainly this keyboard player) take more pleasure in getting high up and seeing outward.

It’s not hard and fast, of course. Keyboard players have to be able to drill down, and a good string player has to look outward, if only to blend themselves properly with the others around them. But I think our first instincts are to either drill down as a string player, or look outward as a keyboard player. I don’t know. It would be interesting to observe people and see how true this is.

I also keep thinking of me as a kid and how I nagged my parents for piano lessons for years starting at roughly kindergarten age. I don’t really recall when I started nagging them. I often assume it was age 5 plus or minus 1 year. But I never nagged for anything else, and it’s not like I hadn’t seen other instruments. It was that big one with all the notes that I wanted to play! You could play the whole piece of music on that one thing! With both hands! (I do know that had I picked up a violin and been made to hold the bow in my right hand, I would have instantly put it down and walked away anyhow.)

