You know …

People often say that when you start doing artistic stuff, it doesn’t take long before someone somewhere will ask you to do it for nothing. I’m sort of wondering how long it will be before that happens to me.

It’s one of the many nice things (aside from health insurance and making rent reliably) about working a day career as an artistic type. I’m used to costing out things and expecting that contracts, NDAs, and invoices are just part of the territory. As a result, when people ask me to do things for free, my reaction is likely to be along the lines of, “How odd. It’s trying to communicate with me. What language is that?” Whereas a dyed-in-the-wool artsy type, who started out in art/music school and always thought of themselves as an artist or musician may find themselves caught out.

