Damn. It’s good.

My arrangement of the opening of “Pompe vane di morte” and the recitatif acompagnato afterwards. I managed to record it without freaking, stonewalling, or choking for once. I’m listening to it now … and it’s good. It’s really good.

It makes me want to be a complete idiot and score the entire opera. At the moment, I have other things to do (like oh, breathe and shower) but after I put a few more pieces of my own in the can, and … um … retire? I might do this. I do know that I want to end up arranging Haendel stuff formally at some point. As in, making a list and working through it after I’ve got about an hour of my own music written and shedded.

And yes, I’m still thinking about arranging the “Eruption” solo for piano in some sort of crazy Rach style, but I haven’t got the chopses. πŸ™‚ We’ll see what happens. This could be some sort of chops-acquisition thing.

I don’t know. I’m just really pleased with how this sounds. πŸ™‚ There’s a lot to be said about putting recitatif on a piano.

