All this to make one stupid note.

Picked up the viola again for the first time in a while.

My arm is killing me.

And all this for one rotten note at a time. Jesus.

To just ride on the top surface of a piece of music. I could sing the stupid notes more easily and accurately.

On my piano, I’m in the entire structure. I’m doing it all — the whole thing, melody, harmony, rhythm, accompaniment. I can no longer see the appeal of making one lousy noise at a time and murdering myself to do it, on an instrument that is deliberately made to be ergonomically vicious on purpose.

You can keep one-note-at-a-time instruments to yourself, thanks. If I want to make one note at a time, I’ll sing them. Yes, I’d like to play something portable. Yes, I’d like to be able to sweeten or dull a note individually, or change its quality while I’m playing it, or have a sustain, or do a vibrato. But all that at the price of one stupid note at a time?

Nope. Sorry. That’s too high a price to pay.

If I want all those things, I’ll buy a home organ.

