I just don’t like counterpoint.

I need to come clean and admit it to myself. I just don’t like it. I need to stop trying to make myself like it. The problem is that you can get a lot of great technique practicing it, but it sounds to me like the classical equivalent of bebop, which I also can’t stand and which also makes me feel like I’m being attacked by a swarm of flies.

Counterpoint in music is like garlic in cooking. A little bit gives you a nice zing every now and then. More than that, and you want to run out of the room holding your nose.

Another comment from Wolfie: “Melody is the essence of music. I compare a good melodist to a fine racer, and counterpointists to hack post-horses; therefore be advised, let well alone and remember the old Italian proverb: Chi sa più, meno sa — Who knows most, knows least.” Sort of the powdered-wig version of Ben Folds’ statement about not “spend[ing] effort on crap like … well, being cool,” and Kevin Shirley’s statement about working with top-selling megabands and telling them “to write great songs and not be too clever with their musicianship. Stop thinking about the press and the reviewers. Do it for the right reasons. Make music to pull chicks and stop worrying about turning on the Steely Dan guys.”

