Octave strings came. :-)

I didn’t get a student-grade violin yet, but I have the necessary strings. I’m trying not to fudge them onto my viola; besides, they’re too short. I admit to being curious, though.

I’ll keep an eye on the Gliga website and see if a $200 student lefty doesn’t show up. (The ones there are listed as out of stock.) In the meantime, it’s viola this weekend more than piano, I think. I’m still in the mood to take a bit of a break from the piano. Eventually, something else will build up in the pipes, and I’ve got several projects I want to get back to. I do want to return to “Son nata a lagrimar,” but I’m also anxious to finish a good collection of piano-only works that I can then practice and work on myself and build up a nice rep of my own material that I can play at any time. I think that as much as I love the viola/violin+piano things, they will have to take a distant second place in terms of priority.

I want to build up a personal rep, and then I want to begin working on the theme+variations on the Haendel aria intros. The string+piano arrangements will need to be relegating to filling in the cracks.

And I still need to get my viola down to the luthier so he can get that damned center-mount chinrest sorted out. It’s still touching the tailpiece, and I can still hear it sometimes. And the left side is still up off the wood and needs some boost from a bit of cork.

