Thinking about a Macbook pro

  1. I’m sick and tired of PC viruses. I can think of zero reason why the things aren’t built more secure out of the box.
  2. The ugly memory of the many Mac bigots I knew in the 90s has faded sufficiently for me to consider buying one.
  3. I’ve got the money to spend on something that’s more expensive than the PC laptops I’m more used to.

I’d like the Air just because it’s so lightweight and uses (quiet, fast) flash memory, but I want a DVD drive in the body of the thing, not as a peripheral.

Musescore runs on it, and with the Google office apps, I should be okay in terms of opening and creating files if I must. I’ll be damned if I’m going to use iCloud, though. My data is MY DATA, and it stays in MY POSSESSION where I can see who’s rifling through it.

I’ll probably chew and waffle and agonize over it, like I do with anything that costs more than $100, and then buy one.

