That blasted chin rest

I’m going to do it. This weekend. I’m going to do it. I’ve got a three-day weekend coming up, so if I have to, I can go to my local music store and have them get me out of trouble. But I’m going to see if I can’t change out my chin rest and get that Flat Flesch on instead of the Guaneri I’ve got now. Wish I had a dremel so I could do a little tweaking of it, but it’s probably better that I don’t.

And once again, it’s down-periscope and a deep dive into the ocean of flats this weekend … I really do just want to force myself to come up with something, so I can at least feel like I have a foggy idea of the overall structure of something, instead of feeling like I’m flailing at mist. I am beginning to realize that those gorgeous 32 measures of six-flat work that starts in F#M (whatever) and ends in Ebm isn’t the Big Finish that I thought it was, or doesn’t have to be. It does after all, swerve into Ebm at the end, and without anything really telegraphing that. I could work past that point.

