You see, the problem with the pochette …

… is that it’s so much lighter and easier to play, even with the same interval distance as my full-size. I need a low-profile center-mount chinrest, and … and it pains me to say this … I may want a 15″ viola. I’ll let it sit for a while and see how long I feel like this, but I could do a fucking vibrato with the pochette, and couldn’t even begin to do it with the full-size. The lightness, the relative ease of playing, even with not-ideal sound, the flexibility of instrument placement allowing more flexibility for my scroll hand … Weight, scroll hand placement, arm placement, everything is easier even with the large interval distances.

I want a low-profile center-mount chinrest on my full-size for starters. We’ll see what happens from there. I don’t want to start stacking these goddamned things up like cordwood. I still like the idea of an octave violin strung like a viola, but one of the things that worries me is the bridge size and the bowing I’ll have to learn with a smaller bridge. I still remember holding my teacher’s violin for just a few seconds and being amazed at how tiny the bridge was. I like having the strings nice and far apart on a real bridge instead of a postage stamp. It really was small.

