Dur.

Calluses don’t help if you keep absentmindedly chewing them off while you’re at work. I don’t even think I’m playing enough to warrant calluses, but I can feel them when I make an effort to nonetheless.

They don’t interfere with my piano playing at all, and to be honest, I don’t really notice them. I have to actually push at my scroll hand fingertips a bit and then do the same with my bow hand to feel a difference. It’s subtle but it’s there. And evidently, my response is to chew them off before I realize they even exist. God, how disgusting.

In other news, I’ve pretty much resigned myself to getting GAS and ordering a 15″ NUVO Baroque viola from the luthier in GA who did my pochette, Don Rickert. He’s in the blogroll at Adventurous Muse. I want a viola that I don’t have to fight with, and if it sounds quieter and more bottled, then so much the better.

