Viola-heavy weekend

Just seems to be one, much more so than piano. Haven’t touched “Lagrimar,” but I’ve shedded a bit on “Bethena,” so I’ve done some piano. I’ve just done more work on the viola this weekend, and I’m pretty happy with it. I think I’ll be truly ready to move on to both Suzuki v2 and the Fitzpatrick melodies with another “coat” of Suzuki v1. The big thing I’m concerned with is shifting, because I’m not sure I can get a grip on that without some hands-on help, and I don’t know how enthusiastic my old instructor will be if I go up to him and effectively ask for another couples months of intensive lessons followed by another six-month absence during which time I digest everything I’ve had presented to me. This is evidently considered a strange way to learn an instrument and particularly for a beginner, but I seem to like it and thrive on it.

I’ll burn that bridge when I come to it. 🙂