Still mulling Musescore …

You know, it’s amazing what’s out there. This program really will serve me fairly happily for quite some time, and possibly for good. I’ve already started a Paypal transfer to donate a bit to it. If I can get a good keyboard app for the iPad, and if they ever make a full-featured version of Musescore available for the iPad, I will buy one of the damned things, finally. That’s a promise. A full-featured WYSIWYG music editor with MIDI (does anyone other than me need to say what-you-see-is-what-you-get to themselves to type that properly?), along with a vaguely acceptable piano app (good enough for a rough idea) will make it possible for me to do heavy editing of a piece of music that I’ve already roughed out at the piano. I don’t foresee ever being able to write music entirely away from an instrument, but once the basics of a piece are worked out and in the program, there is a great deal that can be done with that sort of setup.

Best of all, it’s small. My computer-related Holy Grail is to be able to take it on board an airplane without having it eat up a carry-on.

I will absolutely buy an iPad if the Musescore deities manage to put out a full-featured version of the program for it. Not a reader, but a full-featured version of Musescore for the iPad.

