Okay, so I made myself sit down and do it.

There’s the intro — eight measures that go nowhere and need to be revisited.

There’s a rough pair of two eight-measure phrases:

1.1) A game of light ping-pong in the alto range, and
1.2) A bit where some bam-bam-bam stuff shows up in the bass, the whole thing goes into tenor, with mild upwellings of ping-pong.

These two phrases don’t mirror one another except barely.

Then, the next pair of eight-measure phrases:

2.1) Strong bam-bam-bam in basso, ending very strong, and
2.2) A strong mirroring phrase that brings the whole motif back up into tenor with signs of it going up into soprano in the next pair of phrases.

So that’s where we are. A game of ping-pong and a game of bam-bam-bam in the left hand. That’s not quite ping-pong. More like that ball-on-a-string thing with the paddle that the governor couldn’t manage in “Blazing Saddles.”

I’ll have to chew on it, but at least I have a general idea of where the hell I am now. I just need to figure out what comes after ping-pong and bam-bam-bam.

